New Newsletter and Some News

Hello and welcome to this edition of my newsletter.

I expect, most of you must be wondering why it has been quite a while that my newsletter went out. Let me explain…

Prior to this edition, my newsletter went out via the Nourish site. But, of late, this site was down – as there were some major upgradation works going on on the site. So, eventually, I have moved my Newsletter to MailChimp. And got all my blog feeds literally ‘stitched’ together via FeedStitch. Now, isn’t the internet just a wonderful place! I am back in business again!

For some time now, the Nourish site has been down – but I found out yesterday, when I checked it again, the site is up! So I am back to Nourish for my newsletter service! I hope that the site doesn’t go down again.

In doing so, however, I could not access my account with Nourish, and so was unable to extract the list of my newsletter subscribers. So,

Meanwhile, I did the most logical thing and imported my address book into the system. So, if any of you have received this newsletter in error and wish to discontinue getting it, please, accept my apologies, and opt out of the mailing system by clicking on the relevant link at the bottom of this e-mail.

Many of you must be wondering about the different posts on my blog… all always too general… none of them depicting the true state of my mind. And it is true. I have been going through a lot many changes in the past few months. None of them unpleasant, I assure you. But all of them leaving me much more confused than I ever thought that I would be, given the circumstances.

Coming to the USA was quite something for me. After 12 odd years of living away from my family, I am back within the warmth and glow of the cheer that only family can provide. My Mum, Dad and Sis – all of them are wonderful people and I never knew how much I really missed them till after 12 odd years and especially after I have lived amongst them for the past few months. It has been quite a different way of life for me, these past few months. Not at all like how it was back in Pune, that is for sure! But, it is not entirely unpleasant. I am actually liking it. Yoicks! I had never quite expected that. You know, many things have changed – people change, circumstances change – in fact, change is the most inevitable thing on this planet. And somehow, quite unexpectedly, it has crept upon me – this realization, that I am not quite averse to having my family around me all the time. It is very, very different – but definitely a nice idea.

This brings me to my next confusion. Now that I am here, I would like to pursue my goal of higher studies along with everything else. And because Mum is an Adjunct Professor with a University here, I can get a discount in the fees I am told. And if I get an Assistant-ship at the University, I may get a stipend too! So, I will have to ideally give my GRE and TOEFL exams – which are not an un-surmountable ordeal. But that is not what I am confused about!

Many of you may have known about my intense desire to study Mythology, Symbolism, Psychology and of course, the craft of Film-making. Now, unfortunately, none of these are offered in one course. I will have to choose! And that confuses me. On the one hand, I would like to get a certification in Counseling and be able to really reach out and help people. And then on the other hand, I want to study Myths and Symbols till I drown in them! And then, there is that part of me which wants to study the craft of Film-Making and give in to my creative impulse and indulge in the process of actually being able to transform my vision of a story into reality. If any of you so wishes, please do write to me with what you think would be the perfect thing for me to do… a rare occasion it is when I actually ask for a suggestion. And if you have one, do let me know – What, according to you, would be the best choice for me?

Work is coming along pretty steady too! Had I been making this amount of money when I was back in India, I would be partying hard and working hard! But the funny part is, that here, that amount is pretty much Peanuts. So I have to figure out a way to roll in the big bucks. I am going to scratch my head on that one for some time and figure out a strategy – a plan. I wish that my good pal Leena was here with me now – we really used to discuss business strategy together quite well… I do miss having her here – now, there’s one girl who’s got her head on her shoulders! It is quite rare for me to be able to talk business with someone, and especially if that someone happens to be a girl. As most of you may know, I don’t often engage in such kind of discussions with all and sundry. So Leena, if you are reading this – lets schedule a voice chat session soon girl! We need to brainstorm, big time!

Also on the agenda for me is getting a Drivers License. Apparently there is no way around it. Gotta face my fear eventually. Have decided to give it a go. Do my best and leave it all up to the Universe. I am sure that Existence will do right by me….Gulp! Facing your fear is always a challenge, isn’t it. Although the visa interview was my biggest fear – and I overcame it…this one should not pose too much of a problem now, should it?

Life here is pretty interesting – people give each other a lot of space – perhaps a bit too much space. Coming from a culture where everyone is into everyone’s life, I feel pretty isolated here. Funny observation: Ever since I have come here, I sit out in the porch and smoke my cigarette ever so often. Now, when you do that for some time, you get to see some people pass by your house on a regular basis. It has been five months now, and I actually managed to get 2 waving friends. Now, had it been India, it would have been 20 by now (given my track record) and I definitely would have spoken much more than “Hey”, “Good Morning” and “Have A Nice Day” with them! Ah! America is a good place. But if you live in the ‘burbs as I do, then spaces become too confining. I really don’t find myself getting accustomed to the silence. It is surely not like Mumbai or Pune. I do hope that I move out soon enough – and to a bustling, noisy, polluted, crowded city, like maybe NYC! A total city girl at heart – yup – that’s me! But that will happen soon enough, I suppose.

It is strange. I don’t want to go too far away from my family this time round! Yeah – I know – most of you must be shaking your heads and saying “She’s lost it now” – but it is true. Coming from the mouth of the person who is a committed lone ranger – it must have shocked many of you! But like I said – times change, people change. I guess, I have too!

Well… enough said for one blog post! ‘Til Later Folks!

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑